alert(“What just happened?”)

Alright, guys.

So, I put my big girl pants on and started applying for Jr. Web developer/Web designer jobs and I’m sort of freaking out.

Let me explain.

I’m sort of freaking out because I’m actually getting interviews. I have 5 interviews from now until Friday. I just got off a Skype interview with a company that I’m going in for a second round interview with on Friday and I honestly don’t even know what happened.

I did not nail that interview. And I am not being modest. I was completely unprepared for it A. Because I didn’t expect to actually get picked for an interview and B. It showed. Thankfully, my interviewer was very nice, but he basically coached me through my interview with him. He would stop me in the middle of answering a question and say things like, “Now, for a question like this you really want to say xyz.” This happened more than once. He was friendly and engaging and, honestly, seemed like the kind of guy I wouldn’t mind going and getting a beer with…but like whaat?

And if you still don’t see why it was a little strange. He told me flat out in the interview, “I’m definitely going to have you come in for a face-to-face interview,” and that my interviewers would be a little awkward but don’t get scared off by them. He also gave me a list of questions to ask my interviewers since it was apparent that I was a tech interview novice. AND THEN after all that he said if I somehow don’t manage to pass the interview test that he would like to explore other potential employment opportunities for me with the company anyways.

I closed the Skype application and my jaw was literally on the floor. I have no idea what happened or how it happened. Maybe five minutes after the interview ended I got a phone call from A DIFFERENT COMPANY where I applied for a web development/design job and they scheduled an interview with me for tomorrow at 11:30AM.

Needless to say, I’m in a wee state of shock and a huge state of confusion. But you’d better be damn sure that I’m going to be studying up so I do a HELL of a lot better in the in-person interview than the virtual one.

I’ve always resented the fact that I have such bad luck–but maybe it’s not that I have bad luck, it’s just that all my bad luck was sitting on top of my good luck…and maybe it’s finally running low. I don’t know. All I know is that I’m FREAKING. THE FUCK. OUT. And I have a bunch of interviews these next couple days. This was the plan, right?

Stay tuned, nerds.

xx,

R.

Leave a Reply

