var YouTube = therapy(?);

Hey nerds,

Alright, I’ll admit it. I’ve been slacking. I’ve been playing around with Bootstrap 4 and SASS these last few days and have completely lost track of my roadmap to success. I’m jumping ahead and I realize this. The issue is that I want to be good now. But you can’t skip the shitty parts. The best programmers are the best because they put the time and effort into learning instead of looking for ways to cheat the system.

I am guilty of trying to cheat the system.

However, thanks to some YouTube therapy from a channel that has become essential to my journey in coding–DevTips–I have re-centered myself and am ready to get back to work. And that means shitty stupid awful horrible annoying frustrating infuriating intermediate algorithm scripting on freeCodeCamp. No more sidetracking, detours, days off, etc.

I know why I’m struggling. I’m a visual learner. I think I have slightly below (or maybe just around) average spatial reasoning and computational logic skills. So this is hard for me. And it’s hard because I know what I want to do, I can even write down the pseudo-code of what I want to do, but it’s actually figuring out the logic to doing it that sucks for me. And because I’m learning, EVERYTHING IS NEW, it’s like being given the keys to a Maserati after having ridden a moped for 10 years. So I’m giving up. Not giving up coding–hell no, I’m way too stubborn for that. Plus, STEM needs more women. Fuck the Patriarchy. But I’m giving up trying to skip steps. If I have to struggle, then I’m going to struggle. It’s not like I’m a stranger to it (thanks, notRelevant, and life, in general).

Google, Blogs, YouTube, and a fuck ton of trial-and-error seem to be the only gatekeepers to Paradise.

Okay, then. Bring it on.

Later, nerds.

xx,

R.

Leave a Reply

