var umWhat = { Node.js, npm, live-server };

Alright, so for the past few days I’ve been trying to nail down this whole JSON, AJAX, API thing and I’m much more comfortable with the overarching concept now. I spent yesterday afternoon trying to build a Random Quote Generator using an API I found via Google while receiving a much-appreciated YouTube assist in writing the jQuery to actually run the damn thing. At the same time, I also inadvertently learned how to set up a live server environment on my computer to test my code in real-time using Node.js, npm, and live-server.

Extremely useful. And completely unintentional.

But I submitted the code for my finished project (which FUCKING WORKS, by the way) and now I’m supposed to be building a weather app using the OpenWeatherMap API. So that will be what comprises today’s activities.

I’m still listening the the binaural beats–I had a low day on the 21st so I was able to test it out objectively. Here’s what I found: It absolutely did not affect the intensity of the episode, however it did affect the duration. Usually, low days are a wash–I’m depressed and unmotivated, self-critical and lethargic, and the only thing I have hope for is that by the next day it will have passed. Well, I was able to sort of “pull” myself out of my episode much sooner than I’m usually able to by binge-listening to *one* binaural beat for multiple hours. I was not happy, mind you, but I was not in a depression death spiral (DDS) anymore either, which I think would still be considered a win to many depressionlings, myself included.

Also, the March for Science was yesterday(!), hence my featured image today, and although I did not participate, I streamed the DC march and watched it from home. I find it completely reprehensible that we now have to DEFEND science. Just think about that for a second. Hundreds of thousands of people across the globe, from the north pole to Antarctica, participated in protests to defend evidence-based facts. That’s fucking insane. I could talk politics for hours, but that’s not the focus of this blog so I’ll try to keep my disgust with this administration to a minimum. But for fuck’s sake, you’ve seen the shit this guy tweets and says and does–so you know it’ll creep in from time to time. Like right now: Fuck Trump and his oppressive alt-right agenda. It’s like vomit, better out than in.

Anyways, I’ve decided as a little side project of mine that I’m going to build a website documenting some of the modern day protests and movements that have gained traction over the last few years. #BlackLivesMatter for the fight to end police brutality, #WomensMarch for gender equality, #MarchForScience because I guess we have to defend *facts* now (un-fucking-believable), #PeoplesClimate (taking place next weekend), and #LoveIsLove for marriage equality. I am deeply passionate about all of these causes and I thought it would be a fun way to apply the skills I’ve been learning outside of the FCC environment. Plus, it’ll be something I can put in my portfolio once I actually start to know what the hell I’m doing.

Stay tuned, nerds.

xx,

R.

 

One thought on “var umWhat = { Node.js, npm, live-server };

Leave a Reply

