for (var i = 0; i < stress.length; i++) { takeBreak(); };

Today I was supposed to spend my time focusing on my weather app API. Fiddling with my jQuery and AJAX and cozying up to some JSON shit or whatever. Spoiler: guess who didn’t spend any time focusing on her weather app API? Yeah, that would be me. There’s no real reason behind it, I just didn’t feel like fucking around with that today. So, instead (and to continue the cycle towards the accumulation of knowledge), I learned about SEO and downloaded Adobe CreativeSuite so that I can start to learn Illustrator, InDesign, and PhotoShop.

digital-1320699_1280

There’s so much more to this digital landscape than coding. I’m also learning some basic digital marketing techniques and skills. Now before you start judging me for arguably trying to learn “too much,” I’m gonna stop you right there and say: A. There’s no such thing as learning too much. And B. As long as I’m not trying to learn everything at once, I will be fine. Therefore, instead of today being weather app API day, it became Digital Marketing: SEO (and WordPress site building) day. Sometimes it’s a good idea to take a break from what you’ve been working on for a while and focus on something else. It can help assimilate all the information into long-term memory. Or, at the very least, allow your stress reserves to full themselves out before you cram more shit into them.

I’m also currently able to spend so much time learning right now, because as of writing this, I still have not found a job since leaving NYC *sigh* which sucks. A LOT. But instead of crying about it, I’m expanding my skillset. I’m learning things that will only make me more marketable in the job force. I’m spending my mornings applying for jobs, my afternoons coding and learning other digital-related skills, and my evenings smoking some weed and watching some Netflix. I don’t hate my set-up, let me tell you.

So, let’s parse what I gained from my SEO adventurings today. SEO basically has three main components: Keyword research, On-page optimization, and Off-page optimization. For the keyword research there are a bunch of online tools–including Google’s Adwords’ Keyword Planner (you need an Adwords account to use it, though)–where you can research the competitiveness of certain keywords, and plan your site accordingly based on what you find. On-page optimization is basically making sure your page ranks (in Google) for the keywords you’ve chosen. This is accomplished by choosing appropriate URLs, using the keywords in your title and meta descriptions, along with a sufficient call to action (i.e. Call now, Sign up today, Buy). The last component in SEO is off-page optimization aka link building, which is making sure that you have relevant and high quality websites linking back to the page you’re trying to optimize–this is where most of the SEO grunt work comes in.

As you can see. Today was very productive even though it wasn’t what I had originally planned. Also, Cleveland Cavaliers swept the Pacers which, alone, would have been enough to mark today as a win.

Until next time, nerds.

xx,

R.

Leave a Reply

